What does it feel like? I mean, really. I want to know. I’ll be honest: I am never undecided. I vote straight party no matter what. Why? Because I am a feminist. Show me a Republican who respects a woman’s right to privacy, who truly values the health of all women whether rich or poor, who will fight for womens equal pay… Show me that Republican and I will rethink my strategy.

McCain is probably the closest thing to a “moderate” Republican we have seen since I turned voting age. But I don’t think that I could be more disgusted with his performance last night.

Scoffing at the idea that a woman’s health should be considered when deciding the legality of late term abortion? Are you fucking kidding me? At the very least, do women not have the right to live? Is there any family or doctor who would make the heartbreaking decision to abort a fetus late in pregnancy without extreme sadness and regret? Those families who are forced to choose who lives and who dies… they deserve our deepest sympathy. Instead, McCain offers contempt and scorn.

Pretending that he is the victim of racism, while his supporters are shouting “kill  him” and “terrorist”? Oh yes, you poor rich white man with your seven houses and your trust-fund baby wife. Did someone hurt your feelings? Grow a pair! To be president is to be criticized. McCain’s campaign has deliberately planted the seeds of ignorance amongst their supporters, linking Obama to Ayers, emphasizing words like terrorist as well as Obama’s middle name, and then they act shocked that people stand up and say things like, “I don’t trust him. He’s an Arab.” And the best part? His response, “He’s not an Arab. He’s a good family man.” Did he really just say that?

I am still not quite sure what McCain’s strategy was… I suppose he thought he could say “Obama is going to raise your taxes, Joe the Plumber!” over and over again and we would all panic. Even though Obama consistently and clearly described his tax cuts. Even though McCain’s own party is worried about the extent of Obama’s tax cuts. Hopefully, not everyone is as easily manipulated as the people attending the McCain/Palin rallies.

Obama, on the other hand… so dignified, elouquent, and yes, presidential. Watching the debate, it was clear to me who I want negotiating with Putin. My favorite moment was after McCain whined about being the victim of a racist smear. Did McCain forget that Obama has brown skin? I can’t see how, considering how hard his campaign has worked to remind the public that Obama is a scary, non-white “guy of the street.” (You know… the one who lurks in alleys waiting to prey on white women. Or is it the one with the bomb strapped to his chest?) Rather than get defensive, Obama simply said, “The issues matter. Our hurt feelings are beside the point.” It reminded me of the moment during the VP debate when Palin tried to exploit her baby and play the mom card, forgetting that Biden had also suffered tragedy and raised a family alone. Who do these fools think they are kidding?

I know very well that Obama’s ideas are lofty, and probably not entirely realistic considering our current economic situation. No president has ever accomplished exactly what they wanted to do. But I think it is clear that he truly cares that people are struggling. He has empathy and compassion. And despite the constant negativety showed by McCain last night, Obama continued to point out areas where they might find common ground. Couldn’t they disagree on Roe, but still agree that the solution to abortion is not to overturn the ruling but rather prevent unitended pregnancies and support familes who do decide to raise their children? But McCain couldn’t agree to that… instead he used that beloved buzzword “pro-abortion.” Manipulation, fear, misrepresentation… it’s a sad, sorry excuse for a platform.

