I haven’t been writing because I have been to busy reading. I know you didn’t ask, but there’s the answer anyway. Currently reading Brave New World and Midwives. And hanging out on book message boards and online reading groups. There is a feminist bookstore pretty close to me, so I am thinking that I will get into to one of their MANY bookclubs as well.

It’s got me thinking about the many books that have changed my life. And also the many books that I hated and wish I could have my hours back to read better books. And about all the books that I want to read. So here they are:

Five Books That Changed My Life:

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy

The Death of Nature by Carolyn Merchant

Silent Spring by Rachel Carson

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

Five Overrated Books I Wish I Hadn’t Bothered With! (Note: This is not the same as not liking a book- I have disliked many a book, but was still glad to have read it or could appreciate its literary merit):

The Time Machine by HG Wells

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

The Sun Also Rises by Hemmingway (and pretty much anything else that Hemmingway wrote)

On the Road by Jack Kerouac

Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut (go ahead, yell at me!)

Five books on my to-read list:

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing

Female Chauvinist Pigs by Ariel Levy

Dance of the Dissident Daughter by Sue Monk Kidd

The World According to Garp by John Irving

And now… talk amongst yourselves…

